My ‘Unity’ Broke Down

When I booted my laptop today the panel and launcher were both missing from the screen and I had no idea how to get them back.
The unity-login display was working perfectly fine. But as soon as I logged in to my account the launcher and the top panel went missing and only the desktop background with icons remained. My GUI wasn’t working properly. šŸ˜¦

I searched on the internet a lot but couldn’t find the absolute solution for this. I found that lot of people had this same problem and some were still stuck with it. This usually happened when they updated their Ubuntu to latest version. But that wasn’t the case with mine, my Ubuntu was working fine till today. So what was the problem and how should I deal with it? I found many solutions and tried them but to no avail. BUT these solutions did helped some people.

I’m listing some of those solutions that I tried today.
Tried repairing Unity:
dconf reset -f /org/compiz/
unity --reset-icons &disown

But that didn’t helped and when I tried just “unity –reset” it showed me an error that reset command was deprecated.

Also tried the following command to set Unity:
setsid unity

Then I tried reinstalling the Unity:
sudo apt-get install --reinstall unity
sudo apt-get install --reinstall ubuntu-desktop

Still the problem remained. So after that, I tried:
sudo apt-get install fglrx
This code should have made the sidebar appears but no such luck.

I also tried purging Unity and setting it up again and I got the same result.

After hours of searching and updating my packages I was still at the same position. Later, on the advice of Sukhdeep and Talwinder, I installed another Desktop Environment known Xfce. It was working fine but I didn’t really liked it much. The overall look wasn’t all “easy”.

And I was still searching for the reason why my Unity has stopped working. I was thinking maybe when I compiled Crystal-Space on my system it may have interfered with it. But I’m not really sure now ’cause even as I’ve removed it, the problem still persists.

Finally I installed another DE, Cinnamon šŸ™‚ which has a nice interface. It was suggested by Vigasdeep. Now my system is working fine with the new environment.
The problem with Unity is still there and I’ll keep looking into it.

Leave a Reply

